UC News

Australia’s Full 15-Man Squad For the 2019 ICC World Cup

Australia’s Full 15-Man Squad For the 2019 ICC World Cup

Just over a year after three members of the Test team were handed suspensions for their role in the ball tampering controversy in South Africa, life has come a full circle for David Warner and Steve Smith as they see their names in their side’s 15-man squad announced for this summer’s World Cup.

Both players are yet to play an international game after their suspensions ended late in March and are currently plying their trade in the IPL for Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals.

While Smith does make a comeback, he will not be handed the captain’s armband back as Aaron Finch has been named the defending champions’ skipper for the World Cup.

Fast bowler Josh Hazlewood, who has a back injury, and batsman Peter Handscomb have both been omitted from the squad. Handscomb was seen to have a strong case for selection as he averaged more than 40 in 13 matches last year and offers wicketkeeping coverage.

Pacemen Nathan Coulter-Nile and Jason Behrendorff are among the surprise inclusions.

Australia’s World Cup Squad

  1. Aaron Finch (c)
  2. Jason Behrendorff
  3. Alex Carey (wk)
  4. Nathan Coulter-Nile
  5. Pat Cummins
  6. Usman Khawaja
  7. Nathan Lyon
  8. Shaun Marsh
  9. Glenn Maxwell
  10. Jhye Richardson
  11. Steve Smith
  12. Mitchell Starc
  13. Marcus Stoinis
  14. David Warner
  15. Adam Zampa

(The Quint is now available on Telegram and WhatsApp. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to our Telegram and WhatsApp channels)

Open UCNews to Read More Articles