UC News

MS Dhoni: How India Won All Major ICC Trophies Under MSD's Reign

Hack:Dhoni has scored more than 10000 runs in ODI cricketDhoni has also led the Chennai Super Kings to the IPL trophy, 3 timesHe holds the unique record for being the only captain to have won all major ICC trophies

MS Dhoni: How India Won All Major ICC Trophies Under MSD's Reign

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is arguably one of the best wicket-keeper batsmen to have played for India. Dhoni, who has scored more than 10000 runs in ODIs, revolutionised the role of a finisher with his fast-paced and aggressive style of play. Often compared to legends like Adam Gilchrist, Dhoni created his own niche by not only with his skill but also his tactics. Let us take a look at the three iconic triumphs Dhoni led Team India to:

2007 - ICC World T20

This was a time when the Indian Premier League (IPL) did not exist and T20 cricket was in its infancy. The inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 was also MS Dhoni's captaincy debut for the Indian team. India had gone through a terrible 50-over World Cup earlier that year and a revamped management and core meant that the team could play fresh cricket. The tournament gifted Indians with some unforgettable moments like Yuvraj Singh hitting six sixes in an over off Stuart Broad and the infamous last-ball dismissal of Pakistan's Misbah-ul-Haq to win the final.

2011 - ICC Cricket World Cup

A World Cup which had eluded India for 28 years was up for grabs and the formidable Indian line-up was led by none other than Dhoni. India breezed their way past the group stage and ended up defeating Australia in the memorable quarter-final. The Mohali semi-final against Pakistan was even more memorable as the Indians, with Sachin Tendulkar's 85, walked into the World Cup final at the Wankhede Stadium. What followed is hardly forgettable by any cricket fan, as MS Dhoni spearheaded the Indian batting with his unbeaten 91 to get India their second World Cup after the 1983 triumph.

2013 - ICC Champions Trophy

This tournament was right after Indian cricket was rocked by the spot-fixing scandal of IPL 2013. A fairly young squad, the Indians were looking to enjoy themselves and have a good time in England. The exceptional fielding displayed by the Indian team took them to the final against England. Heavy rains effectively shortened the game to a T20 tie as India batted first and made a measly 129/7. England looked favourites to win but an effective spin attack by Jadeja and Ashwin along with exceptional fielding by Dhoni and Co. saw the Indians wrap up the match and the elusive Champions Trophy. With that win, Dhoni became the first captain to have won all major ICC tournaments for his country.

Open UCNews to Read More Articles