UC News

Euro 2020 draw: England in group with Croatia while Wales will face Italy

Euro 2020 draw: England in group with Croatia while Wales will face Italy
Gareth Southgate walks past the Euro 2020 trophy at Saturday’s draw. Photograph: Stoyan Nenov/Reuters

England will face Croatia, the team that beat them in last year’s World Cup semi-final, in the group stage of Euro 2020. Croatia denied Gareth Southgate’s team a place in the World Cup final with a 2-1 extra-time win in Russia, and the two teams will meet again at Wembley on 14 June.

England will also take on the Czech Republic in Group D, who beat them in qualifying for this tournament, and their third opponent – to be decided in March – will be the winners of play-off path C, which could be Scotland. The other possible opponents are Israel, Norway and Serbia. The outcome of the play-offs will not be known until March. All three games will be at Wembley.

Wales were drawn in Group A alongside Italy, Switzerland and Turkey in a trio of fixtures that will take them to Baku, for the first two, and then Rome. Italy, coached by the former Manchester City manager Roberto Mancini, won all 10 of their qualifiers, having failed to qualify for the 2018 World Cup. The last two times the sides met in Italy, the Azzurri won 4-0.

Wales won their last meeting with Switzerland, a Euro qualifier in October 2011. Aaron Ramsey and Gareth Bale were the scorers. The last time Wales played Turkey, in a qualifier for the 1998 World Cup, it ended 6-4 to the Turks with Hakan Sukur scoring four.

If England win Group D they would come up against the runner-up from Group F – which contains Germany, France and Portugal – in Dublin, and then a quarter-final in Rome. The semi-finals and final will all be at Wembley, with the final played on Sunday 12 July.

Full draw

Group A Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland

Group B Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia

Group C Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, Play-off winner D

Group D England, Croatia, Czech Republic, Play-off winner C

Group E Spain, Sweden, Poland, Play-off winner B

Group F Portugal, Germany, France, Play-off winner A

Open UCNews to Read More Articles