UC News

Aakash Chopra Picks India’s Squad For ICC World Cup 2019

Aakash Chopra Picks India’s Squad For ICC World Cup 2019

After quite a few analysts and former cricketers, now, it is Aakash Chopra, who announced his playing XI for the upcoming edition of the ICC World Cup 2019. As ever, Aakash Chopra came up with a few surprising inclusions and exclusions for the upcoming grand event.

The former opening batsman picked the regular openers Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma, who will be assisted by the Karnataka batsman KL Rahul. He believes that KL Rahul has got a class and can be a useful material for India in many ways. Rahul got the calibre of playing at any place in the top 4.

Ambati Rayudu at number 4:

Then, obviously, the skipper of , Virat Kohli finds a place alongside Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Aakash Chopra kept his trust on Ambati Rayudu in the middle-order, who will be accompanied by the golden cricketer of India Kedar Jadhav.

Ambati Rayudu Image Source: Getty Images

Then, he named the fast bowling-all-rounder , who is currently showing his class for Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League. It seems like Chopra is pretty much convinced with the current fast bowling department.

He picked Bhuvneshwar Kumar alongside Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami to fill the section. Chopra believes that Hardik’s presence will help India go with an extra-spinner or try various combinations. For the fourth seamer, he asked to choose one between Khaleel Ahmed and Deepak Chahar.

Clarification on three important slots:

Aakash Chopra believes that it is good to go with the trusted batsman in the middle order rather than going with someone, as an experiment. Further, he chose Rishabh Pant over Vijay Shankar.

Rishabh Pant. Credit: Getty Images

Chopra feels that it is better to go with Rishabh Pant for his big-hitting prowess rather than Shankar, who isn’t bowling in the matches. And finally, he believes that fourth seamer is necessary, as the tournament is played in England.

And also, here is his squad:

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Ambati Rayudu. Kedar Jadhav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Khaleel Ahmed/Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav.

Open UCNews to Read More Articles